Overview pasodecebra.com
Universities in Madrid
Checklist for exchange students
Language schools in Madrid
Accommodation for students
Jobsearch in Madrid
Public transport
Restaurants, Bars and Discos
Leisure time
Sights and museums
Festivals and events
Collection of links
Picture gallery
Idea for this web site /
about us
 
 

Restaurants, bars & clubs

Madrid enjoys the reputation of being the city with the longest nights in Europe. You will find bars, pubs and discos throughout the city, it is impossible for us to list all of them here, but we can guarantee that there is something interesting for everyone. The same applies for restaurants: you will find everything from simple pubs to true gourmet temples and of course the popular tapas bars. Here a small selection of the most popular localities.

Restaurants
The cuisine is very international, you will find almost every country on the culinary world map of the city. The selection grows constantly and even though Asian, South-American and African restaurants gain slowly in popularity, it is still the restaurants offering traditional cuisine that are the number one for locals as well as tourists.

Botín
If you are searching for a special experience, we can recommend the restaurant Botín, which opened its doors in 1725 and is registered as worlds oldest restaurant in the Guiness Book of Records. It is said that Goya worked in this restaurant before he become famous, and that Hemingway was a regular guest. It is a tourist magnet but you will also find locals enjoying the excellent cuisine.
Address: Cuchilleros 17, close to Plaza Mayor
Subway: Sol
Website: http://www.botin.es/Web-De/index.html

Gula Gula
You can enjoy the exquisite salad buffet but also eat warm à la carte. Guests can choose from a range of creative dishes. After dinner everyone waits for the gogo-show, which makes it also a very popular place for bachelorette parties. An unforgettable evening is guaranteed!
Addresses: C/Gran Vía 1, C/Infante 5
Subway: Sevilla, Sol
Website: http://www.gulagula.net/home.html

Arrocería Gala
This paella restaurant is definitely worth a visit. You sit on round tables in a room decorated as garden and eat from big paella pans. Wonderful atmosphere and relatively reasonable prices: an insider tip!
Address: C/Moratín 22
Subway: Anton Martín
Website: http://www.paellas-gala.com/

Casa Mingo
A classic since 1917 – even though you are (almost) only offered chicken and salad – and sidra (cider) to drink. The Madrilenians love it and sit on one of the many tables on the street when the weather is good.
Address: Paseo de la Florida 34
Subway : Príncipe Pío

Las Cuevas de Luis Candelas
The caves of Luis Candelas is one of the oldest taverns in Madrid. You can settle back on one of the wooden benches and enjoy tapas and sangria or you can walk further into the caves and reach the restaurant, where you are offered specialities from the grill.
Address: C/ Cuchilleros 1
Subway: Sol
Website: http://www.lascuevasdeluiscandelas.com/

El Corral de la Morería – Flamenco Restaurant
The oldest flamenco show restaurant in Madrid. This “tablao flamenco” restaurant offers exquisite cuisine and performances of outstanding artists e.g. Blanca del Rey, Antonio Gades, Lucero Tena, Pastora Imperio, Mario Maya also called “el Güito”. Make a reservation!
Address: C/ Moreria 17
Subway: Sol
Website: http://www.corraldelamoreria.com/

Tapas-Bars
Tapas bars are to be found throughout the city and there is nothing better than enjoying delicious appetizers after an exhausting shopping spree. The inexpensive way of indulgence!

Automático
A tapas bar in the most popular street of the district of Lavapíes. In summer you can sit on tables outside and enjoy the famous ensaladilla rusa (Russian salad) – the best of Madrid according to a survey of a local magazine!
Address: C/Argumosa 17
Subway: Lavapiés

Museo de Jamón
A chain that has also stores in Madrid. The name “museo” might come from the fact that dried ham hangs from the ceiling. Here you can find tapas – surprise, surprise - made of ham! Interesting!
Addresses: Gran Vía 72; Alcalá 55; Atocha 54; Marcelo Usera 14; Escoriaza 1;Alcorcon
Website: http://www.museodeljamon.es/


El Txoko (Taberna Vasca)
One of the best tapas bars in Madrid specialising in Basque cuisine. Friendly atmosphere but always crowded. The entrance of the bar is to be found in the basement of a traditional Basque building.
Address: C/Jovellanos 3
Subway : Sevilla

More tapas bars at: http://www.softdoc.es/madrid_guide/eatingout/tapas.html (English) and http://www.softdoc.es/guia_madrid/comer/tapas/tapas1.html (Spanish)

Vegetarian Restaurant – La Biotika
A popular vegetarian restaurant in the area of Huertas with relatively reasonable menus. You will find macrobiotic vegetarian cuisine, especially vegetarian burgers. Make a reservation before visiting this restaurant!
Address: C/Amor de Dios 3
Subway: Antón Martín

If you are looking for a quick bite, you can try the Spanish fast food chains e.g. Vips, which is also a supermarket, café, book shop, etc. Find a variety of sandwiches (bocadillos) and salads at Pans & Company or Rodilla.

Specialities of Madrid
Typical dishes of the city are the Cocido Madrileño, a stew made of noodles, chickpeas, meat and vegetables and the Callos Madrileños, tripes with blood sausage or bacon and chickpeas. Sopa de Ajo, garlic soup is also very popular. You will often find beef and lamb on the menu as well as fresh fish and seafood, even though Madrid is not surrounded by the sea. It is daily imported from the coast and sold at the second biggest fish market in the world.


Bars and discos

The night life in Madrid is so versatile that we can guarantee that everyone will find something for his taste. It is very common, like everywhere in Spain, to go out very late. Most Spanish people start the evening around 22 o’clock in a bar or in a tapas restaurant and they leave it at 1 o’clock at the earliest. Most of them stay until the bars close around 3 o’clock and then go dancing in the clubs and discos until 7 o’clock when most of them close. It is also very common to let the night die away over breakfast in one of the many cafés.

The most popular area can be found around Plaza Santa Ana. It is favoured among tourists, but there are also lots of madrileños. You will find one bar next to the other.

Along the Castellana you will find mainly chic bars and clubs and you can hardly see students. The age group is 25 plus. Same is true for the district of Retiro and Salamanca, a meeting point of the pijos, the Spanish version of yuppies.

In the district of Malasaña you can find a lot of simple bars with favourable prices and a very young audience; it is clearly the favourite district of students and pupils, who spend their nights in this area. Many rock concerts take place here.

Chueca is the district of gay people and very popular. You will find many places with lively atmosphere.

Fans of Jazz and Salsa find their favourite places in the district of Huertas. You will find smaller bars and clubs with live music in the weekends. Santa Ana – Huertas is one of the most popular districts to go out in Madrid. Here you will see all age groups and nationalities in the numerous bars and pubs.

In the district of La Latina you have the possibility to enjoy wine and tapas and move from one to the next cosy bar.

Also very popular among students and young people are the districts of Alonso Martinez and Argüelles – Moncloa.

Here a small selection of bars and discos.

Discotheques

CATS
This club attracts mainly a young audience between 19 and 27, as it is located in the student area. You will find different types of music and fiestas with fancy themes.
Address: C/ Julian Romea 4
Subway: Guzmán el Bueno
Website: http://www.catsmadrid.com/

EL SOL (la sala sol)
You can dance here in cool atmosphere to jazz and funk music. Between Sunday and Thursday rock and pop concerts take place. Always crowded. Cult!
Address : C/ Jardines 3
Subway : Sol
Website : http://www.elsolmad.com/portada/home.php


TEATRO KAPITAL
This discotheque is one of the largest in Madrid with seven floors. There is something for every taste, house, R&B, Salsa, etc. You can chill out with a cold drink on the terrace.
Address: C/ Atocha 125
Subway : Atocha
Website: http://www.grupo-kapital.com/newkapitalsite/


PALACIO DE GAVIRIA
This club is to be found in a 19th century palace. Unique atmosphere, different kinds of music and 100% party feeling, especially on Thursdays at the international parties, when young people from all over the world celebrate here. At the entrance you will get a sticker with your home country, which definitely rises the flirt factor.
Address: C/ Arenal 9
Subway: Sol
Website : http://www.palaciogaviria.com/ingles/default.htm


JOY ESLAVA
A mixed audience from tourists and locals to models, actors, singers and athletes parties here. It is one of the most famous clubs of the city in the centre of Madrid.
Address: C/Arenal 11
Subway: Sol
Website: http://www.joy-eslava.com/

Here a tip: There is nothing better than churros con chololate (special pastry, which has to be dipped into warm chocolate) after a night of partying. One of the best places is the Chocolatería San Ginés (Pasadizo San Ginés 5, Subway: Sol) directly in the centre.

Bars

As already mentioned, there is an endless number of bars in Madrid, and it is definitely worth it to walk around and discover the areas of Sol – Plaza Santa Ana – Huertas, Malasaña and Alonso Martinez. You will certainly find your favourite places there.

El Buzcón
A bar where you can enjoy tapas and then dance the night away. Good atmosphere and often very crowded!
Address: C/Victoria 5
Subway : Sol

Villa Rosa
A bar-disco to dance and have fun. It is located directly at Plaza St. Ana, so you can conveniently enjoy the night life directly after visiting some terraces.
Address: Plaza Santa Ana 5
Subway: Sol

Viva Madrid
This bar is worth a visit because of the painted tiles on the walls. You can listen and dance to a lot of Spanish music. Mixed audience.
Address: C/ Manuel Fdez. González 7
Subway : Sevilla

La Comedia
A typical marcha- bar in Huertas to dance the night away. In the weekends even after 5 o’ clock in the morning.
Address: C/Príncipe 16
Subway : Sevilla

Monna Lisa
In this bar you can dance until dawn to Spanish and international music. Nice atmosphere and many Spanish people.
Address: Nuñez de Arce 8
Subway : Sol

The Bourbon Café
You can dance to international music and enjoy a copa (drink) at the rustic bar. Many concerts take place here and every Wednesday there is Noche Mexicana with a lot of tequila and Corona beer (in Spain: Coronita).
Address : Carrera de San Jerónimo 5
Subway: Sol

Ducados Café
This is a restaurant, café and cocktailbar. Upstairs you can enjoy a drink and then go downstairs to dance. Latino atmosphere!
Address: Plaza de Canalejas 3
Subway: Sevilla

At http://www.guiadelocio.com/madrid/noche/ you get information about hot places in Madrids night life, cinema, restaurants and other leisure activities. (in Spanish).

Übersicht pasodecebra.com
Universitäten in Madrid
Auslandssemester - Checkliste
Sprachschulen in Madrid
Erfahrungsberichte
Unterkunft für Studenten
Studentenjobs - Praktika
öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Restaurants, Bars und Discos
Freizeitbeschäftigung
Sehenswürdigkeiten & Museen
Feste und Events
Linksammlung
Bildergalerie
Idee zur Seite / über uns
Fisch Delikatessen
 

 

  Restaurants, Bars & Clubs

Madrid wird nicht umsonst als die Stadt mit den längsten Nächten Europas bezeichnet. Überall in der Stadt findet man Bars, Kneipen und Diskotheken, so dass es unmöglich ist, alle hier aufzulisten. Sicher ist, dass garantiert für jeden etwas dabei ist. Das gleiche gilt für Restaurants: In Madrid werdet ihr alles von einfachen Kneipen bis hin zu wahren Gourmet-Tempeln finden. Und natürlich dürfen auch hier die beliebten Tapas -Bars nicht fehlen. Hier also ein kleine Auswahl der beliebtesten Lokalitäten.

Restaurants
Die Küche ist sehr international, es gibt kaum ein Land, das auf der kulinarischen Weltkarte der Stadt nicht vertreten wäre. Die Auswahl wird ständig erweitert, asiatische, südamerikanische und afrikanische Restaurants sind langsam im Kommen, doch sind Restaurants mit traditioneller Küche nach wie vor weitaus beliebter bei Einheimischen sowie Touristen.

Botín
Wer auf der Suche nach besonderen Erlebnissen ist, dem sei das Restaurant Botín empfohlen, das seit 1725 besteht und im Guiness Buch der Rekorde als ältestes Restaurant der Welt eingetragen ist. Goya soll hier vor seinem Ruhm gearbeitet haben und Hemingway war ein gern gesehener Gast. Ein Touristenziel, doch findet man auch viele Spanier hier, die die ausgezeichnete Küche genießen.
Adresse: Cuchilleros 17, nahe Plaza Mayor
U-Bahn: Sol
Website: http://www.botin.es/Web-De/index.html

Gula Gula
Das Salatbuffet ist exquisit, wer will kann aber auch warm à la carte essen. Hier kann man aus einer Reihe kreativer Gerichte wählen. Nach dem Essen warten alle auf die Gogo-Show. Sehr beliebt auch für Junggesellinnen-Feiern und garantiert ein unvergesslicher Abend!
Adressen: C/Gran Vía 1, C/Infante 5
U-Bahn: Sevilla, Sol
Website: http://www.gulagula.net/home.html

Arrocería Gala
Dieses Paella-Restaurant ist definitiv einen Besuch wert. Hier sitzt man in einem als Garten geschmückten Raum an runden Tischen und speist aus großen Paella-Pfannen. Wunderbare Atmosphäre zu relativ günstigen Preisen: ein Geheimtipp!
Adresse: C/Moratín 22
U-Bahn: Anton Martín
Website: http://www.paellas-gala.com/

Casa Mingo
Ein Klassiker seit 1917 – dabei gibt es (fast) nichts als Hühnchen und Salat – und zum Trinken sidra (Apfelwein). Die Madrilenen lieben es und bei schönem Wetter reiht sich auf der Straße Tisch an Tisch.
Adresse: Paseo de la Florida 34
U-Bahn : Príncipe Pío

Las Cuevas de Luis Candelas
Die Höhlen von Luis Candelas ist eine der ältesten Tavernen Madrids. Hier kann man es sich auf Holzbänken gemütlich machen und Tapas und Sangria genießen oder weiter in die Höhlen zum Restaurant vordringen, wo man Spezialitäten vom Rost geboten bekommt.
Adresse: C/ Cuchilleros 1
U-Bahn: Sol
Website: http://www.lascuevasdeluiscandelas.com/

El Corral de la Morería – Flamenco Restaurant
Das älteste Flamenco-Show Restaurant in Madrid. Dieses “tablao flamenco” Restaurant bietet exquisite Küche und Auftritte hervorragender Künstler wie z.B. Blanca del Rey, Antonio Gades, Lucero Tena, Pastora Imperio, Mario Maya auch “el Güito” genannt. Reservieren!
Adresse: C/ Moreria 17
U-Bahn: Sol
Website: http://www.corraldelamoreria.com/


Tapas-Bars
Tapas-Bars findet man überall in der Stadt und es ist herrlich, sich nach einem Einkaufsbummel mit leckeren Häppchen zu stärken. Preiswert genießen!

Automático
Eine Tapas-Bar auf der beliebtesten Straße im Stadtteil Lavapiés. Im Sommer könnt ihr auf den Tischen vor der Tür sitzen und eine ensaladilla rusa (russischer Salat) – nach Umfrage eines lokalen Magazins die beste von Madrid – genießen!
Adresse: C/Argumosa 17
U-Bahn: Lavapiés

Museo de Jamón
Eine Kette, die auch in Madrid Filialen hat. Der Name Museo rührt wohl daher, dass überall an der Decke getrocknete Schinken hängen. Hier findet ihr, wie der Name schon sagt, Tapas, die aus Schinken bestehen. Kurios!
Adressen: Gran Vía 72; Alcalá 55; Atocha 54; Marcelo Usera 14; Escoriaza 1; Alcorcon
Website: http://www.museodeljamon.es/

El Txoko (Taberna Vasca)
Eine der besten Tapas-Bars in Madrid, die sich auf baskische Küche spezialisiert hat. Freundliche Atmosphäre, aber immer sehr voll. Der Eingang der Bar befindet sich im Keller eines traditionell-baskischen Gebäudes.
Adresse: C/Jovellanos 3
U-Bahn : Sevilla

Mehr Tapas-Bars unter http://www.softdoc.es/madrid_guide/eatingout/tapas.html (englisch) und http://www.softdoc.es/guia_madrid/comer/tapas/tapas1.html (spanisch)

Vegetarisches Restaurant – La Biotika
Ein beliebtes vegetarisches Restaurant in der Huertas -Gegend mit relativ günstigen Menüs. Hier gibt es makrobiotische vegetarische Küche, speziell vegetarische Burger. Vor einem Besuch solltet ihr reservieren!
Adresse: C/Amor de Dios 3
U-Bahn: Antón Martín

Wenn ihr euch einmal nur schnell stärken wollt, könnt ihr eine der spanischen Fastfood Ketten ausprobieren, wie z.B. Vips, was gleichzeitig auch ein Supermarkt, Café, Buchladen etc. ist. Sandwiches (bocadillos) und Salate gibt es auch in Pans & Company oder Rodilla.

Madrider Spezialitäten
Typische Gerichte der Stadt sind das Cocido Madrileño, ein Eintopf aus Nudeln, Kichererbsen, Fleisch und Gemüse und die Callos Madrileños, Kutteln serviert mit Blutwurst oder Speck und Kichererbsen. Doch auch Sopa de Ajo, Knoblauchsuppe ist äußerst beliebt. Sehr häufig findet man Kalb- und Lammfleisch auf den Speisekarten und auch Fisch und Meeresfrüchte sind, obwohl Madrid nicht am Meer liegt, immer frisch, da sie jeden Tag von der Küste importiert werden und auf dem zweitgrößten Fischmarkt der Welt verkauft werden.


Bars und Diskotheken
Das Nachtleben in Madrid ist so vielfältig, dass mit Sicherheit für jeden etwas dabei ist. Wie überall in Spanien gehen die Menschen erst sehr spät aus. Die meisten beginnen den Abend gegen 22 Uhr in einer Bar oder in einem Tapas-Lokal. Von dort bricht man frühestens um 1 Uhr in die Discos auf, die meisten verlassen die Bars aber erst, wenn sie gegen 3 Uhr schließen. In den Discos tanzt man bis gegen 7 Uhr, dann schließen die meisten. Oft lässt man die Nacht mit einem gemeinsamen Frühstück in einem der vielen Cafés ausklingen.

Die beliebteste Gegend ist wohl die Plaza Santa Ana. Es ist das Ausgehviertel der Touristen, man trifft aber auch viele Madrileños. Hier findet man eine Kneipe neben der anderen.

Entlang der Castellana findet man vor allem schicke Bars und Clubs, und man trifft hier kaum Studenten. Die Altersgruppe ist 25 aufwärts. Das gleiche gilt für die Viertel Retiro und Salamanca. Hier treffen sich die Pijos, die spanische Version der Yuppies.

Im Viertel Malasaña befinden sich vor allem einfache Kneipen und die Preise sind günstig und das Publikum sehr jung; vor allem Studenten und Schüler schätzen das Viertel und verbringen ihre Abende hier. Hier finden oft Rockkonzerte statt.

Das Viertel Chueca ist das Schwulenviertel und sehr beliebt. Hier findet man viele Lokalitäten mit lebhafter Atmosphäre.

Fans von Jazz oder Salsa finden in Huertas eine Auswahl an entsprechenden Lokalen. Meistens handelt es sich um kleine Kneipen oder Clubs in denen am Wochenende oft Live-Musiker auftreten. Santa Ana – Huertas ist eines der beliebtesten Ausgeh-Viertel in Madrid. Hier findet man alle Altersgruppen und Nationalitäten in den unzähligen Kneipen und Bars.

Im Viertel La Latina kann man in gemütlichen Lokalen Wein und Tapas genießen und von einer Bar in die nächste ziehen.

Bei jungen Leuten und Studenten sind auch die Viertel Alonso Martinez und Argüelles – Moncloa sehr beliebt.


Hier eine kleine Auswahl an Bars und Diskotheken.

Diskotheken

CATS
In der Studenten-Zone zieht diese Disco vor allem junges Publikum zwischen 19 und 27 Jahren an. Verschiedene Musikrichtungen und fiestas mit ausgefallenen Mottos.
Adresse: C/ Julian Romea 4
U-Bahn: Guzmán el Bueno
Website: http://www.catsmadrid.com/


EL SOL (la sala sol)
Hier tanzt man zu Jazz, Funk und Soul in cooler Atmosphäre. Zwischen Sonntag und Donnerstag finden hier Rock- und Popkonzerte statt. Immer voll. Kult!
Adresse : C/ Jardines 3
U-Bahn : Sol
Website : http://www.elsolmad.com/portada/home.php

TEATRO KAPITAL
Mit sieben Stockwerken ist diese Disco eine der größten Madrids. Hier ist für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei, House, R&B, Salsa etc. Vom Tanzen kann man sich auf der Terrasse bei einem kühlen Getränk erholen.
Adresse: C/ Atocha 125
U-Bahn : Atocha
Website: http://www.grupo-kapital.com/newkapitalsite/

PALACIO DE GAVIRIA
Diese Disco ist in einem Palast aus dem 19. Jahrhundert untergebracht. Einzigartige Atmosphäre, verschiedene Musikrichtungen und absolute Partystimmung, besonders Donnerstags, wenn die internationale Party stattfindet und junge Leute aus aller Welt hier feiern. Beim Eintritt bekommt ihr einen Aufkleber mit dem Namen eures Landes, was den Flirt-Faktor enorm erhöht.
Adresse: C/ Arenal 9
U-Bahn: Sol
Website : http://www.palaciogaviria.com/ingles/default.htm

JOY ESLAVA
Hier feiert ein bunt gemischtes Publikum, von Touristen und Einheimischen bis hin zu Models, Sängern, Sportlern und Schauspielern. Eine der bekanntesten Diskotheken der Stadt im Zentrum Madrids.
Adresse: C/Arenal 11
U-Bahn: Sol
Website: http://www.joy-eslava.com/

Hier noch ein Tipp: Nach einer durchtanzten Nacht gibt es nichts Besseres als churros con chocolate (spezielles Gebäck, das man in warme Schokolade tunkt). Am besten in der bekannten Chocolatería San Ginés (Pasadizo San Ginés 5, U-Bahn: Sol) direkt im Zentrum.


Bars
Wie schon erwähnt, gibt es unzählige Bars in Madrid, es lohnt sich einfach einmal die Gegenden um Sol – Plaza Santa Ana – Huertas, Malasaña und Alonso Martinez zu erkunden. Dort findet ihr bestimmt etwas für euren Geschmack.

El Buzcón
Eine Bar, in der man zuerst Tapas essen und später tanzen kann. Gute Atmosphäre und oft sehr voll!
Adresse: C/Victoria 5
U-Bahn : Sol

Villa Rosa
Eine Bar-Disco zum Tanzen und Spaß haben. Liegt direkt am Plaza St. Ana, man kann also nach einem Terrassen-Besuch direkt ins Nachtleben eintauchen.
Adresse: Plaza Santa Ana 5
U-Bahn: Sol

Viva Madrid
Ein Besuch in dieser Bar lohnt sich, um die Wände voller bemalter Kacheln zu bewundern. Hier kann man zu viel spanischer Musik tanzen. Gemischtes Publikum.
Adresse: C/ Manuel Fdez. González 7
U-Bahn : Sevilla

La Comedia
Eine typische marcha-Bar in Huertas zum Tanzen. Am Wochenende sogar nach
5 Uhr morgens.
Adresse: C/Príncipe 16
U-Bahn : Sevilla

Monna Lisa
In dieser Bar kann man bis in die frühen Morgenstunden zu spanischer und internationaler Musik tanzen. Gute Atmosphäre und viel spanisches Publikum.
Adresse: Nuñez de Arce 8
U-Bahn : Sol

The Bourbon Café
Hier kann man zu internationaler Musik tanzen oder eine copa (Getränk) an der rustikalen Bar trinken. Hier finden auch Konzerte statt und jeden Mittwoch eine Noche Mexicana mit viel Tequila und Corona (in Spanien: Coronita).
Adresse : Carrera de San Jerónimo 5
U-Bahn: Sol

Ducados Café
Hier findet ihr Restaurant, Café, Cocktailbar und Diskothek in einem. Oben kann man gemütlich ein Getränk genießen und dann einen Stock tiefer zum tanzen gehen. Latino-Atmosphäre!
Adresse: Plaza de Canalejas 3
U-Bahn: Sevilla

Unter http://www.guiadelocio.com/madrid/noche/ könnt ihr euch über angesagte Lokale im Madrider Nachtleben, aber auch über Kino, Restaurants und andere Freizeitaktivitäten erkundigen. (auf spanisch)