Overview pasodecebra.com
Universities in Madrid
Checklist for exchange students
Language schools in Madrid
Accommodation for students
Jobsearch in Madrid
Public transport
Restaurants, Bars and Discos
Leisure time
Sights and museums
Festivals and events
Collection of links
Picture gallery
Idea for this web site /
about us
 
 


Sights and museums

There is a lot to see in Madrid. Every year millions of visitors are attracted by the versatile offer of leisure and entertainment of the Spanish metropolis, which is the third largest city in the European Union after London and Berlin. Cultural and artistic offers in more than fifty museums, theatres, a richness of historic buildings as well as destinations at the periphery and beautiful parks are some of the many highlights you can’t miss out on.

Of course it is almost impossible to see all of it, therefore we created a list of the most important sights. If you want to give your feet a rest, you can take a trip with the bus turístico, a double-decker tourist bus, where you have the opportunity to see a lot and hop on and off, in case you want to explore a place.

Paseo del Prado – Prado street
Along the Paseo del Prado you will find the so-called triangle of museums; there is only a few meters of walk between three of the most important museums of the world: Museo del Prado, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia and Museo de Arte Thyssen-Bornemisza.

Museo del Prado
The Museo del Prado is one of the largest and most significant art museums in the world. In 1814 Ferdinand VII wanted to erect a pinacotheca following the example of the Louvre. On November 19, 1819 the museum, built by Juan de Villanueva, was inaugurated under the name of Museo Real de Pintura y Escultura (royal museum of painting and sculpture). Today you can see artworks of Hieronymos Bosch, Botticelli, Dürer, Goya, Rubens and Velázquez, amongst others.

Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday and holidays: from 9 till 20 o’clock (except holidays that are on a Monday); December 24 and 31, January 6: from 9 till 14 o’clock
Closed: Mondays (also holidays that are on a Monday), New Year, Mai 1st, December 25 and Good Friday
Prices: Normal price: 6 Euros, reduced price: 3 Euros (students outside of the EU under 25, holders of the Carné Joven, members of cultural organisations pre-approved by the director)
Free entrance: Persons under 18 and over 65, disabled and unemployed people from EU countries, students from EU countries under 25, tour guides..., Sundays between 9 and 19 o’clock, October 12, December 6, Mai 2nd and Mai 18
Website: http://museoprado.mcu.es/ihome.html

Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia
Named after the Spanish Queen Sofía, this musum complements the collection of the Prado with many of the most important paintings and sculptures from well-known artists of modernity from the 20th century, e.g. Pablo Picasso, Salvador Dalí, Juan Grís, etc. as well as exhibitions of current art like paintings, sculptures, videos, pictures and movies.

Opening hours: Monday - Saturday: from 10 till 21 o’clock, Sunday: from 10 till 14.30
Closed: Tuesdays, December 24, 25 and 31, January 1st and 6, May 1st and 15, September 9 and November 9
Prices: Normal price: 6 Euros, reduced price: 3 Euros (students, holders of a Carné Joven)
Free entrance: Persons under 18 and over 65, unemployed persons, tour guides, journalists, museum personnel..., Saturdays from 14.30 till 21 o’clock, Sunday from 10 till 14.30, October 12, December 6, May 18
Website: http://www.museoreinasofia.es/museo/portada/portada_ING.php

Museo de Arte Thyssen-Bornemisza
This museum is one of the most important private collections in the world with paintings from the 14th century onwards. More than 800 paintings and sculptures, carvings, tapestry and other things are on display.

Opening hours: Tuesday - Sunday : from 10 till 19 o’clock. December 24 and 31 : from 10 till 15 o’clock.
Closed: Mondays, New Year, May 1st and December 25.
Prices: Normal price : 6 Euros, reduced price : 4 Euros (persons over 65 and students)
Free Entrance : Children under 12 in company
Website: http://www.museothyssen.org/thyssen/home.html

You can also purchase an art pass for 14,40 Euros or an annual ticket for
36,06 Euros in order to visit various museums throughout the year.

More museums:

Casa de Velázquez
http://www.casadevelazquez.org/edefault.htm

Museo Arqueológico Nacional
http://man.mcu.es/

Museo Cerralbo
http://museocerralbo.mcu.es/esp/index2.html

Museo de América
http://museodeamerica.mcu.es/

Museo de la Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando
http://rabasf.insde.es/

Museo Nacional de Artes Decorativas
http://mnartesdecorativas.mcu.es/

Museo Pedagógico de Arte Infantil
http://www.ucm.es/info/mupai/

Museo Sorolla
http://museosorolla.mcu.es/

Cosmocaixa
http://portal1.lacaixa.es/Docs/Chan/99/1-99-10-10000009.html

Museo del Jamón
http://www.museodeljamon.es/

Museo de Cera
http://www.museoceramadrid.com/

 

Puerta del Sol
Plaza de la Puerta del Sol is the centre of the city and of entire Spain. Here you can find the so-called “Kilómetro Cero”, the traditional starting point of the six radial national streets. The emblem of Madrid, el oso (the bear) is also to be found here. The Puerta de la Sol is also a very popular meeting point of young people, who fill the numerous bars and clubs at night, whether they spend a cosy night in a bar with tapas and sangria or party the night away in the clubs and discos. Sol is also a shopping paradise and offers a lot of terraces in order to give your feet some rest and have a coffee.

Plaza España
Plaza España is an ample square in 1920s style and represents as well a prime example of early high rise architecture. The place lies in the middle of skyscrapers, like “Torre de Madrid” and “Edificio España”, which make it one of the most famous squares of the city between the old town and modern Madrid. Plaza de España is composed of spacious greens, a fountain and a huge monument, the Plaza Cervantes, built in 1928. It shows the Spanish history of Don Quijote, Sancho Panza and their creator Miguel de Cervantes on the monument. You can have a rest on one of the benches after a stroll or a shopping spree in Gran Vía, one of Madrids boulevards, and watch the hustle and bustle around you. Gran Vía used to be the largest and most important shopping street of Madrid until the 60s and you can still see numerous boutiques, cinemas, ice cream parlours and the most famous theatres of Spain.

Plaza Mayor
Plaza Mayor remains the most lively place of Madrid until today. It developed in the 15th century as market place and since then it has been the setting of social highlights. Today you can see a lot of sidewalk cafés, which are only removed for concerts. Plaza Mayor is located in the centre of the old town and is known as famous meeting point of the population. Here you can simply sit on the floor like most of the „madrileños“, watch artists and enjoy the atmosphere.

Plaza Cibeles
At Plaza Cibeles you can find three of the most important sights of Madrid: Cibeles fountain, Palacio de las Comunicaciones and Banco de España. Fans and the team of the football club Real Madrid use this place to celebrate championships. The square is also located in the end of the Prado street, so you can combine a visit of the museums with a stroll to the fountain.

Palacio Real – the royal palace
The palace was built in the 18th century on the premises of the former Alcazar, the ancient Muslim palace-castle. You can visit numerous rooms like the Salon de los Espejos (mirror room), Cuarto del Rey Carlos Tercero (room of King Charles III) or the Salon de Alarderos (halberd room) and many more. Apart from ceremonial rooms you can also admire paintings from Velazquez, Goya, Rubens, El Greco and Caravaggio. The gardens of Sabatini and Campo del Moro are further attractions of the palace.

Opening hours: October 1st until March 31: 9.30-17.00 o’clock. Sundays and holidays: 9.00-14.00 o’clock. April 1st until September 30: 9.00-18.00 o’clock. Sundays and holidays: 9.00-15.00 o’clock.
Closed: During official events, January 1st and 6, May 1st , December 25 and 31.
Prices: Basic rate: 10 € (guided tour plus painting museum); 9 € (guided tour); 8 € (without guided tour).
Reduced entrance: 6 € (groups of tour operators).
Minimal rate: 3,50 € (persons over 65 J., retirees, pensioners, disabled persons, Carné Joven, groups from educational institutions and members of the ICOM, students and children between 5 and 16 years from the EU with ID).
Free entrance: Wednesdays for EU citizens, children up to 5 years and visits from educational institutions by arrangement. The free entrance ticket is not valid for the museum of paintings.
Services: audio guide, info service, visit with guided tour
Website: http://www.patrimonionacional.es/preal/preal.htm

Plaza de Toros, Ventas
Las Ventas is a famous bullfighting arena in Madrid and at the same time one of the best known arenas for bullfights in the Spanish-speaking world. Located in the district of Salamanca, it has been inaugurated solemnly on June 17, 1931. It has seating capacity for almost 25.000 people. The arena is a very beautiful building and it is worth dropping by on a Sunday afternoon, then you can also take the opportunity to watch a bullfight. The prices vary widely and depend on your seating area.
More information about prices and schedules in Spanish at: http://www.las-ventas.com/

Estadio Santiago-Bernabéu
The stadium of Santiago-Bernabéu is the competition site of the Spanish football club Real Madrid. It is located in the centre of Madrid in the district of Chamartín. After the latest refurbishment in the year 2005 it holds 80.354 spectators. More information about games of Real Madrid at: http://www.realmadrid.com/portada_esp.htm
Close to the football stadium and the train station of Chamartín you can find the twin towers of Puerta de Europa, which are probably the most famous modern skyscrapers in Madrid. They have been built in 1996 by the KIO (Kuwait Investment Office) and the American architects Philip Johnson and John Burge. Each of the two builidings is 115 meters high and 15 degrees inclined.

Estadio Vicente-Calderón
The Vicente-Calderón stadium is home of the football club Atlético Madrid, directly situated at the river Manzanares. The stadium holds 54.851 spectators and has been added to the five star-category by the UEFA, which means that it is qualified for e.g. holding of European championship finals like the Champions League final. It is one of the most modern stadiums in the world due to its unusual architecture. Madrids city highway runs directly under the covered main tribune. That is the reason for the open corners at this point, which is pretty unusual for football stadiums. More at: http://www.clubatleticodemadrid.com/es/index.asp

Estación de Atocha – Train station of Atocha and Palm garden
The train station of Atocha is located, unlike the nothern train station of Chamartín, in the centre of the city, at Plaza Emperador Carlos V, close to the botanical garden and the Prado. Various suburban railway lines (Cercanías) of the region as well as line 1 of the Metro Madrid stop in Atocha next to long-distance and high speed trains from the south of Spain as well as regional trains. The old train station is famous for its large art noveau roof construction made of cast iron and glass. Since the opening of a new train station to the south of the old one in 1992, the large arches of the old building contain a tropical palm garden, which is used as waiting hall and meeting point. You really feel like in the tropes. Unfortunately, the train station was setting of the terrorist attacks in Madrid on March 11, 2004 during the rush hour in the morning.

Faro de Moncloa
The tower of Moncloa is a 100 m high transmitter tower with a viewing platform at Plaza de Moncloa in Madrid. It has been built in 1992 and attracts attention due to its eccentrically arranged viewing platform. Its worth to climb this tower (with an elevator), to enjoy the nice view.
Opening hours: June - Sept.: 11.00 - 13.45 / 17.30 -20.45 Tuesday till Sunday
Sept. - May: 10.30 - 14.00 / 17.30 - 19.45 Tuesday till Sunday
Price: 1.20 Euro

Übersicht pasodecebra.com
Universitäten in Madrid
Auslandssemester - Checkliste
Sprachschulen in Madrid
Erfahrungsberichte
Unterkunft für Studenten
Studentenjobs - Praktika
öffentliche Verkehrsmittel
Restaurants, Bars und Discos
Freizeitbeschäftigung
Sehenswürdigkeiten & Museen
Feste und Events
Linksammlung
Bildergalerie
Idee zur Seite / über uns
Fremdenverkehrsamt
 
Freund & Tipps
Museum Milos
Geschenke Trolle
 
 
 

 

Sehenswürdigkeiten und Museen

In Madrid gibt es jede Menge zu sehen. Nicht umsonst werden jährlich Millionen von Besuchern von einem vielfältigen Angebot für Freizeit und Unterhaltung in die spanische Metropole, nach London und Berlin die drittgrößte Stadt in der Europäischen Union, gelockt. Kulturelle und künstlerische Angebote in über fünfzig Museen und Theatern, ein Reichtum an historischen Bauwerken sowie Ausflugsmöglichkeiten an der Peripherie und wunderschöne Parkanlagen sind nur einige Highlights, die ihr euch nicht entgehen lassen sollt.
Natürlich ist es fast unmöglich, alles zu sehen, deshalb hier die wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten.
Eine „Fuß-schonende“ Methode ist eine Tour mit einem bus turístico, einem Doppeldecker-Touristenbus, den auch die meisten Reisenden auf Lastminute Urlaub bevorzugen. Dabei kann man viel sehen und auch zwischendurch ein- und aussteigen, wenn man einen Platz etwas genauer erkunden möchte.

Paseo del Prado - Pradostraße
Am Paseo del Prado befinden sich im sogenannten Museumsdreieck in Gehweite von wenigen hundert Metern drei der wichtigsten Museen der Welt: Museo del Prado, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia und Museo de Arte Thyssen-Bornemisza.

Museo del Prado
Das Museo del Prado ist eines der größten und bedeutendsten Kunstmuseen der Welt. Ferdinand VII. wollte 1814 eine Pinakothek nach dem Vorbild des Louvre schaffen, am 19. November 1819 wurde das Museo del Prado, errichtet von Juan de Villanueva, unter dem Namen Museo Real de Pintura y Escultura (Königliches Museum für Malerei und Bildhauerei) eingeweiht. Heute kann man unter anderem Kunstwerke von Hieronymos Bosch, Botticelli, Dürer, Goya, Rubens und Velázquez bestaunen.

Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag und Feiertage: von 9 bis 20 Uhr (außer Feiertage, die auf einen Montag fallen); 24.+ 31. Dezember, 6. Januar: von 9 bis 14 Uhr
Geschlossen: Montags (auch an Feiertagen, die auf einen Montag fallen), Neujahr, 1. Mai, 25. Dezember und Karfreitag
Preise: Normaler Preis: 6 Euro, ermäßigter Preis: 3 Euro (Studenten außerhalb der EU unter 25, Carné Joven-Besitzer, Mitglieder kultureller Organisationen mit vorheriger Erlaubnis des Direktors)
Freier Eintritt: Personen unter 18 und über 65, Behinderte und Arbeitslose aus EU-Ländern, Studenten aus EU-Ländern unter 25, Reiseleiter..., Sonntage zwischen 9 und 19 Uhr, 12. Oktober, 6. Dezember, 2. Mai und 18. Mai
Website: http://museoprado.mcu.es/ihome.html

Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia
Benannt nach der spanischen Königin Sofía ergänzt das Museum die Kollektion des Prados mit den vielen der wichtigsten Gemälde und Skulpturen namhafter Künstler der Moderne ab dem 20. Jahrhundert, so z.B. Pablo Picasso, Salvador Dalí, Juan Grís usw. sowie Ausstellungen von gegenwärtiger Kunst wie Gemälden, Skulpturen, Videos, Fotos und Filmen.

Öffnungszeiten: Montag bis Samstag: von 10 bis 21 Uhr, Sonntag: von 10 bis 14.30 Uhr
Geschlossen: Dienstag, 24., 25. und 31. Dezember, 1. und 6. Januar, 1. und 15. Mai, 9. September und 9. November
Preise: Normaler Preis: 6 Euro, ermäßigter Preis: 3 Euro (Studenten, Carné Joven-Besitzer)
Freier Eintritt: Personen unter 18 und über 65, Arbeitslose, Reiseleiter, Journalisten, Museumsleute..., Samstag von 14.30 bis 21 Uhr, Sonntag von 10 bis 14.30 Uhr, 12. Oktober, 6. Dezember, 18. Mai
Website: http://www.museoreinasofia.es/museo/portada/portada_ING.php

Museo de Arte Thyssen-Bornemisza
Dieses Museum ist eine der wichtigsten Privatsammlungen der Welt mit Gemälden aus der Zeit ab dem 14. Jahrhundert. Mehr als 800 Gemälde und Skulpturen, Schnitzereien, Wandteppiche und andere Dinge werden dort ausgestellt.

Öffnungszeiten: Dienstag bis Sonntag : von 10 bis 19 Uhr. 24. und 31. Dezember : von 10 bis 15 Uhr.
Geschlossen: Montag, Neujahr, 1. Mai und 25. Dezember.
Preise: Normaler Preis : 6 Euro, ermäßigter Preis : 4 Euro (Personen über 65 und Studenten)
Freier Eintritt : Kinder unter 12 in Begleitung
Website: http://www.museothyssen.org/thyssen/home.html

Man kann auch einen Kunst-Pass für 14,40 Euro oder eine Jahreskarte für
36,06 Euro
erwerben, und damit mehrere Museen über das Jahr hinweg besuchen.

Weitere Museen:

Casa de Velázquez
http://www.casadevelazquez.org/edefault.htm

Museo Arqueológico Nacional
http://man.mcu.es/

Museo Cerralbo
http://museocerralbo.mcu.es/esp/index2.html

Museo de América
http://museodeamerica.mcu.es/

Museo de la Real Academia de Bellas Artes de San Fernando
http://rabasf.insde.es/

Museo Nacional de Artes Decorativas
http://mnartesdecorativas.mcu.es/

Museo Pedagógico de Arte Infantil
http://www.ucm.es/info/mupai/

Museo Sorolla
http://museosorolla.mcu.es/

Cosmocaixa
http://portal1.lacaixa.es/Docs/Chan/99/1-99-10-10000009.html

Museo del Jamón
http://www.museodeljamon.es/

Museo de Cera
http://www.museoceramadrid.com/


Puerta del Sol
Der Plaza de la Puerta del Sol ist der Mittelpunkt der Stadt und eigentlich ganz Spaniens. Hier befindet sich der sogenannte "Kilómetro Cero", der traditionelle Ausgangspunkt der sechs radialen Nationalstraßen und auch das Wahrzeichen von Madrid, el oso (der Bär), ist hier zu finden. Die Puerta del Sol ist auch ein beliebter Treffpunkt vieler junger Leute, um abends durch die unzähligen Bars und Clubs zu ziehen, ob gemütlich bei Tapas und Sangria oder ausgelassen in den Clubs und Discos. Auch für Shopping-Freunde bietet sich hier ein Paradies. Wer dann eine Pause braucht, kann sich gemütlich auf eine der vielen Terrassen setzen, um seinen Füßen etwas Ruhe zu gönnen.

Plaza España
Der Plaza España ist ein großer Platz im Stile der 1920er Jahre und stellt ein Parade-Beispiel früherer Hochhaus-Architektur dar. Der Platz liegt inmitten von Wolkenkratzern, wie dem „Torre de Madrid“ und dem „Edificio España“, die ihn zu einem der bekanntesten Plätze Madrids zwischen der Altstadt und dem modernen Madrid machten. Der Plaza de España besteht aus einer weiträumigen Grünfläche, einem Wasserbecken und einem großen Monument, der Plaza Cervantes, welches 1928 errichtet wurde Es zeigt die spanische Geschichte von Don Quijote, Sancho Panza und ihren Schöpfer Miguel de Cervantes, deren Figuren sich auf dem Monument befinden. Hier kann man sich nach einem Spaziergang oder Einkaufsbummel auf der Gran Vía, einer der Prachtstraßen Madrids, auf einer der Bänke ausruhen und den Trubel um sich herum beobachten. Die Gran Vía war bis in die 60er-Jahre die größte und bedeutendste Einkaufsstraße Madrids. Dort gibt es auch heute noch zahlreiche Boutiquen, Kinos, Eisdielen und die berühmtesten Theater Spaniens.

Plaza Mayor
Bis heute der lebendigste Platz Madrids ist der Plaza Mayor, der im 15. Jahrhundert als Marktplatz entstand und seither Schauplatz gesellschaftlicher Highlights ist. Heute werden die Örtlichkeiten vor allem für Straßencafés genutzt, wenn sie nicht gerade für Konzerte geräumt werden. Der Plaza Mayor befindet sich im Zentrum der Altstadt und gilt als beliebter Treffpunkt der Bevölkerung. Hier könnt ihr ganz einfach wie die meisten „madrileños“ am Boden sitzen, Künstler beobachten und die Atmosphäre genießen.

Plaza Cibeles
Auf dem Plaza Cibeles befinden sich drei der größten Sehenswürdigkeiten von Madrid auf einem Platz: der Cibeles-Brunnen, der Palacio de las Comunicaciones und die Banco de España. Von den Anhängern und der Mannschaft des Fußballvereins Real Madrid wird dieser Platz übrigens zur Feier von Meisterschaften genutzt. Dieser Platz befindet sich übrigens am Ende der Pradostraße, also könnt ihr einen Besuch der Museen gleich mit einem Spaziergang zum Brunnen verbinden.

Palacio Real – der Königspalast
Der Palast wurde im 18. Jahrhundert auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Alcazar, der früheren moslemischen Palastburg erbaut. Im Inneren können zahlreiche Räume wie den Salon de los Espejos (Spiegelsaal), Cuarto del Rey Carlos Tercero (Zimmer König Karls III) oder den Salon de Alarderos (Hellebardensaal) und viele weitere besichtigt werden. Neben den Prunkräumen können Gemälde von Velazquez, Goya, Rubens, El Greco und Caravaggio bestaunt werden. Die Gärten von Sabatini und Campo del Moro sind eine weitere Attraktion des Palastes.

Öffnungszeiten: 1. Oktober bis 31. März: 9.30-17.00 Uhr. Sonn- und feiertags 9.00-14.00 Uhr. 1. April bis 30. September: 9.00-18.00 Uhr. Sonn- und feiertags 9.00-15.00 Uhr.
Geschlossen: Während offizieller Veranstaltungen, 1. und 6. Januar, 1. Mai, 25. und 31. Dezember.
Preise: Grundtarif: 10 € (Führung plus Gemäldemuseum); 9 € (Führung); 8 € (ohne Führung).
Ermäßigter Eintritt: 6 € (Gruppen von Reiseveranstaltern).
Minimaltarif: 3,50 € (Personen ab 65 J., Rentner, Pensionäre, Behinderte, Carné Joven, Gruppen von Bildungseinrichtungen und Mitglieder des ICOM, Studierende und Kinder zwischen 5 und 16 J. aus der Europäischen Union mit Ausweis).
Freier Eintritt: Mittwochs für EU-Bürger, Kinder bis 5 J. und Besuche von Bildungseinrichtungen nach Vereinbarung. Die kostenlose Eintrittskarte berechtigt nicht zum Besuch des Gemäldemuseums.
Serviceleistungen: Audio-Führer Info-Service Besuch mit Führung
Website: http://www.patrimonionacional.es/preal/preal.htm

Plaza de Toros, Ventas
Las Ventas ist eine berühmte Stierkampfarena in Madrid und gleichzeitig eine der bekanntesten Arenen für den Stierkampf in der spanischsprechenden Welt.. Im Barrio von Salamanca gelegen, wurde sie am 17. Juni 1931 feierlich eingeweiht. Ihre Sitzkapazität beträgt annähernd 25.000 Plätze. Die Arena ist ein sehr schönes Bauwerk und es lohnt sich, an einem Sonntag Nachmittag einmal vorbeizuschauen, dann kann man sich auch gleich einen Stierkampf ansehen. Die Preise sind breitgefächert, je nachdem wo man sitzen möchte.
Mehr Information über Preise und Pläne in spanisch unter: http://www.las-ventas.com/

Estadio Santiago-Bernabéu
Das Santiago-Bernabéu-Stadion ist die Wettkampfstätte des spanischen Fußball-Klubs Real Madrid. Es liegt im Zentrum der Stadt Madrid im Viertel Chamartín. Seit der letzten Modernisierung im Jahr 2005 fasst es 80.354 Zuschauer. Mehr Information über Spiele von Real Madrid unter: http://www.realmadrid.com/portada_esp.htm
In der Nähe des Fußballstadions beim Bahnhof Chamartín befinden sich auch die Zwillingstürme der Puerta de Europa. Sie sind wahrscheinlich die bekanntesten modernen Hochhäuser in Madrid. Sie wurden 1996 von der KIO (Kuwait Investments Office) erbaut und vom amerikanischen Architekten Philip Johnson und John Burge. Jedes der beiden Gebäude ist 115 Meter hoch und um 15 Grad geneigt.

Estadio Vicente-Calderón
Das Vicente-Calderón-Stadion ist die Heimat des Fußballvereins Atlético Madrid, direkt am Fluss Manzanares gelegen. Das Stadion fasst 54.851 Zuschauer. Es ist von der UEFA in die Fünf-Sterne-Kategorie aufgenommen worden, was bedeutet, dass es z.B. für die Austragung von Europapokalfinalspielen, wie zum Beispiel das Champions-League-Finale, in Frage kommt. Durch seine ausgefallene Architektur ist es eines der modernsten Stadien der Welt. Direkt unter der überdachten Haupttribüne führt die Stadtautobahn von Madrid hindurch. Auch aus diesem Grund sind die beiden Ecken dort offen, was für Fußballstadien ungewöhnlich ist. Mehr unter: http://www.clubatleticodemadrid.com/es/index.asp

Estación de Atocha - Bahnhof Atocha mit Palmengarten
Der Fernbahnhof Atocha liegt im Gegensatz zum Nordbahnhof Chamartín im Zentrum der Stadt, am Plaza Emperador Carlos V, unweit des Botanischen Gartens und des Prado. Außer den Fern- und Hochgeschwindigkeitszügen aus dem Süden Spaniens und den Regionalzügen halten in Atocha sämtliche S-Bahn-Linien (Cercanías) der Region sowie die Linie 1 der Metro Madrid. Die alte Bahnhofshalle ist berühmt für ihre große Dachkonstruktion aus Gusseisen und Glas im Jugendstil. Seit 1992 südlich davon der neue Bahnhof in Betrieb genommen wurde, befindet sich unter dem riesigen Gewölbe der alten Bahnhofshalle ein tropischer Palmengarten, der als Wartehalle und Treffpunkt genutzt wird. Hier fühlt man sich wirklich wie in den Tropen.
Leider wurde der Bahnhof am 11. März 2004 während der morgendlichen Hauptverkehrszeit Schauplatz der Madrider Zuganschläge.

Faro de Moncloa
Der Moncloa-Turm ist ein 100 Meter hoher Sendeturm mit einer Aussichtsplattform am Plaza de Moncloa in Madrid. Er wurde 1992 errichtet und fällt durch seine exzentrisch angeordnete Aussichtsplattform auf. Es lohnt sich, diesen Turm einmal hochzufahren (es gibt einen Lift), um die schöne Aussicht zu genießen.

Öffnungszeiten : Juni - Sept.: 11.00 - 13.45 / 17.30 -20.45 Dienstag bis Sonntag
Sept. - Mai: 10.30 - 14.00 / 17.30 - 19.45 Dienstag bis Sonntag
Preis: 1.20 Euro